1 800 222 6872

Lynyrd Skynyrd: Then and Now

Track List

>Saturday Night Special [Live]
>Preacher Man
>Tomorrow's Goodbye
>That Smell [Live]
>Gone Fishin'
>Simple Man [Live]
>Voodoo Lake
>Sweet Home Alabama [Live]
>Free Bird [Live]

Album Notes

Lynyrd Skynyrd: Johnny Van Zant (vocals); Rickey Medlocke, Hughie Thomasson (guitar, background vocals); Gary Rossington (guitar); Billy Powell, Bill Cuomo (keyboards); Leon Wilkeson (bass, background vocals); Owen Hale (drums, percussion); Kenny Arnoff (drums); Michael Cartellone (percussion); Carol Chase, Dale Krantz Rossington, Chris Eddy (background vocals).

Additional personnel: Josh Leo (acoustic guitar).

Producers: Josh Leo, Ben Fowler, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Ron Nevison.

THEN AND NOW appropriately touches on "then," as some of the songs here are Lynyrd Skynyrd staples from the 1970s, and "now," as they're performed here by the late-'90s touring edition of the band, featuring original members Gary Rossington, Billy Powell, and Leon Wilkeson (guitar, keyboards, and bass, respectively). The album, a compilation derived from three earlier efforts, splits the difference between studio and live performances.

Of the former, the most surprising track is "Tomorrow's Goodbye," a quite beautiful power ballad (complete with strings) about saving the environment. The live tracks are also impressive--Johnny Van Zant doesn't quite have his late brother Ronnie's unique mix of swagger and grace, but on crowd-pleasers like "Free Bird" and "Sweet Home Alabama" he gets pretty damn close.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product