1 800 222 6872

Smetana: Moldau; Sarka; Dvorak: Symphony No. 9 (original transcriptions from the composers for piano duet) / Stéphanie Salmin & Pierre Solot, pianists

Album Summary

>Smetana, Bedrich : Má Vlast (My Fatherland), symphonic poems (6), JB 1
>Dvorak, Antonin : Symphony no 9 in E minor, Op. 95/B 178 "From the New World"
Ensemble Composers

Notes & Reviews:

Bedrich Smetana and Antonn Dvork, those two Bohemians shaped by the history, traditions and nature of their beloved homeland, developed a music which, while national in spirit, also displays broader passions. Their notes conjure imposing narratives and vast landscapes, brought to vivid life by means of subtle coloration. Different as they were, the music of both men spanned the world, astonishingly free of the dictates of fashion and preserving a freshness that remains to this day. The transcriptions for piano duet (four hands) performed by the Duo Solot are from the composers themselves. It is a delight to note the quality of the pianistic writing in these arrangements, which showcase the resonant and percussive qualities of the instrument and its ability to project a mass of sound, yet also emphasise the clarity of the melodic and rhythmic discourse, precisely delineating the works' polyphonic riches. In short, a perfect opportunity to discover these very familiar pieces with new ears...

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Studio Tempo Primo (02/2015).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Smetana, Bedrich : Má Vlast (My Fatherland), symphonic poems (6), JB 1 :: 112
  • Ensemble: Duo Solot (Piano Duo)
  • Running Time: 21 min. 55 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: circa 1872-1879

>Dvorak, Antonin : Symphony no 9 in E minor, Op. 95/B 178 "From the New World"
  • Ensemble: Duo Solot (Piano Duo)
  • Notes: Composition written: 01/10/1893-05/24/1893.
  • Running Time: 39 min. 53 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral