1 800 222 6872

Black Tusk: Pillars of Ash *

Track List

>God's on Vacation
>Desolation in Endless Times
>Bleed on Your Knees
>Born of Strife
>Damned in the Ground
>Beyond the Divide
>Black Tide
>Still Not Well
>Walk Among the Sky

Album Notes

Personnel: Andrew Fidler (vocals, guitar, piano); James May (vocals, drums, percussion); Jonathan Athon (vocals).

Audio Mixer: Joel Grind.

Liner Note Author: Kim Kelly .

Recording information: Cloud City Studios, Portland, OR (10/2014); Falcon Studios, Portland, OR (10/2014).

Illustrator: Jacob Speis.

Photographer: Geoff Johnson .

The Motörhead/Melvins-loving, Savannah, Georgia-based stoner/sludge/punk metal unit's much anticipated sophomore studio outing, Pillars of Ash is a straight-up haymaker of an album; an oil-stained middle finger rising out of the brackish water of a swamp forest. The last Black Tusk offering to feature bass player Jonathan Athon, who passed away in November 2014 from injuries sustained in a motorcycle accident, the 11-track set is both workmanlike and punitive, and its charms are rank and crust-lined. Stand-out cuts like "God's on Vacation," "Black Tide," "Still Not Well," and "Desolation in Endless Times" are blast furnace-forged and spilling over with pit sweat, and what they lack in melody and nuance they more than make up for in pure, groove-laden hardcore goodness. Like their fellow Peach State decibel-pushers Baroness, who also had to overcome a bout with misfortune, Black Tusk have found that the best way to distill despair is via absolute volume, and Pillars of Ash is defiantly cacophonous. ~ James Christopher Monger


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review