1 800 222 6872

Joey Anderson (House): Invisible Switch [Digipak] *

Track List

>Invisible Switch
>Organ to Dust
>Tell Us Where
>Nabta Playa
>18 Arms
>Beige Mantis
>Blind Light
>Song of Love
>Step Back

Album Notes

Arriving about a year-and-a-half after his acclaimed full-length debut After Forever, New Jersey-based house producer Joey Anderson's sophomore album, Invisible Switch, sharpens his focus while remaining enigmatic. Anderson is a master of spacious minimalism, hinting at emotions rather than fully expressing them. Unlike other dance producers whose music is described as "minimal," Anderson's work doesn't feel cold and lifeless. It's spacy and subtle, but it's still highly melodic and danceable. Tracks like "Reset" and "Tell Us Where" are fuller and more immediate than most of After Forever, but they don't come close to sounding like dancefloor anthems. It feels like there's much more attention paid to structure and timing, but the tracks still feel sprawling and freeform. He also creates exciting juxtapositions of raw, bugged-out synth tones and more soothing atmospheric pads, such as the wild "Blind Light." Invisible Switch definitely feels like a sonic upgrade, but it doesn't lose sight of what made Anderson so unique in the first place. ~ Paul Simpson


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review