1 800 222 6872

Johnny Cash: With His Hot and Blue Guitar

Track List

>Rock Island Line, The
>I Heard That Lonesome Whistle
>Country Boy
>If the Good Lord's Willing
>Cry! Cry! Cry!
>Remember Me
>So Doggone Lonesome
>I Was There When It Happened
>I Walk the Line
>Wreck of the Old `97, The
>Folsom Prison Blues
>Doin' My Time

Album Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly (9/26/03, p.34) - "...[Here] Cash and the Tennessee Two...define their essential sound: spindly lead-guitar lines, scratchy, boom-chicka-boom rhythms, and plainspoken vocals whose stoic minimalism conveys worlds of emotion..."

Album Notes

This reissue of the 1957 Sun Records release has never been available on CD.

Includes liner notes by Bill Dahl.

One of the best Johnny Cash albums ever, his Sun Records debut, 1957's WITH HIS HOT AND BLUE GUITAR, features his first single, "Cry! Cry! Cry!," as well as its follow-ups, "Folsom Prison Blues" and "I Walk the Line." A milestone in rock music history in its compelling combination of primal country music and raw, earthy rock & roll, the album also charts the major elements of Cash's future musical direction--train songs, with "The Wreck of Old '97," prison songs in the aforementioned "Folsom Prison Blues" and "Doin' My Time," gospel material in "I Was There When It Happened," and reminiscences of his early, dirt-poor country years in "Country Boy." This release includes the added bonus of "Hey, Porter!" (the original B-side of "Cry! Cry! Cry!"), as well as four previously unreleased alternate takes.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product