1 800 222 6872

Circle Jerks: VI

Track List

>Beat Me Senseless
>Patty's Killing Mel
>Casualty Vampire
>Tell Me Why
>I'm Alive
>Status Clinger
>American Way
>Fortunate Son
>Love Kills
>All Wound Up
>I Don't

Album Notes

The Circle Jerks: Keith Morris (vocals), Greg Hetson (guitars), Zander Schloss (bass), Keith Clark (drums).

Recorded at Crystal Sound and Mr. Rogers, Hollywood, California.

All songs written or co-written by members of The Circle Jerks except "Fortunate Son" (John C. Fogerty).

Personnel: Keith Morris (vocals); Greg Hetson (guitar); Keith Clark (drums).

Audio Remasterer: Sean Brennan .

Liner Note Author: Tony Rettman.

Recording information: Crystal Sound, Hollywood, CA.

This strong album is one of the band's best. Tempos here are slowed down from that of standard hardcore; as a result, the songs here inhabit the uneasy netherworld between punk and heavy metal traversed most successfully by the Stooges and the Dictators. Only Keith Morris' raspy, growling vocals retain the band's tie with classic hardcore. Songwriting is still inconsistent, but there are a surprisingly large number of strong selections here, and all are performed with fiery energy. Highlights include "Casualty Vampire," "I Don't," and the top-notch "Beat Me Senseless." There's also a rushed and raw cover of the Creedence Clearwater Revival chestnut "Fortunate Son." This platter is well worth hearing. ~ David Cleary


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review