1 800 222 6872

Max Reger (1873-1916): Violin Concerto in A major, Op. 101 arranged for chamber ensemble by Rudolf Kolisch / Winfried Rademacher, violin; Linos Ens.

Album Summary

>Reger, Max [Composer] : Concerto for Violin in A major, Op. 101
Performer Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Arnold Schönberg in 1922 said of Max Reger, "In my view, Reger must be played often; 1. Because he wrote a lot; 2. Because he is dead and we still do not have any clarity about him. (I consider him a genius). Arnold Schönberg founded the Society for Musical Private Performances in November of 1918 in Mödling. The purpose of the organization was 'to give Arnold Schönberg the opportunity personally to carry out his intention of providing artists and art lovers with a veritable and precise knowledge of Modern Music' (Alban Berg 1919). The group put special emphasis on performing works by Max Reger. This arrangement of Reger's Violin Concerto Op. 101 was written by Rudolf Kolisch (1896-1978), a violinist who studied under Schrecker and Schönberg. Featured soloist on this recording is Winfried Rademacher, professor of violin at the Musikhochschule in Trossingen. He is respected both in the concert hall and in the recording studio.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Deutschlandfunk Köln, Kammermusiksaal (12/16/2010-12/19/2010).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Reger, Max [Composer] : Concerto for Violin in A major, Op. 101
  • Performer: Winfried Rademacher (Violin)
  • Ensemble: Linos-Ensemble
  • Notes: Deutschlandfunk Köln, Kammermusiksaal (12/16/2010-12/19/2010)
  • Running Time: 57 min. 21 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Concerto