1 800 222 6872

Inner City Unit: Passout

Track List

>Space Invaders
>Watching the Grass Grow
>Polly Ethylene
>Solitary Ashtray
>O.B. City Muse
>Cybernetic Love
>Cars Eat With Autoface
>Nuclear Waste
>Master of the Universe
>Amyl Nitrate
>Let's Dance
>Let's Twist Again
>Almost Cut My Hair
>Wild Thing
>Give the Man a Bone
>Savage [Guitar Instrumental], The
>Space Invaders [Live Version]
>Polly Ethelyne [Polydor Demo]

Album Notes

Personnel: Trev Thoms (vocals, guitar); Nik Turner (vocals, saxophone); Dead Fred (vocals, keyboards); Baz Magneto (vocals); Mick Stupp (drums).

Audio Remasterer: John Hughes.

Recording information: UK Pro Studios.

Photographer: Bob Bromide.

After a year or so conducting the most extraordinary guerilla attacks on the hearts and minds of the post-Hawkwind faithful, Inner City Unit finally made it into the studio in earnest, self-financing and releasing a debut album that remains one of the freshest sounding of all post-'70s spin-offs from the mother ship. Much of Pass Out has since passed into legend -- mainman Nik Turner's own refusal to allow the grass to grow beneath any of the songs sees them constantly revisited and reinvigorated. Arguably, however, no subsequent incarnation can recapture the sheer magic of hearing the "originals" for the first time, the ramshackle freak-form delivery effortlessly positing the missing link between punk rock and whichever era of Hawkwind the listener holds dearest. The presence of two rearranged Hawkwind classics, then, is simply the icing on an already lavish cake. ~ Dave Thompson


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review