1 800 222 6872

Ensemble Kolossus/Michael Formanek: The Distance

Track List

>Distance, The
>Exoskeleton (Prelude)
>Exoskeleton: Impenetrable, Pt.1/Beneath the Shell, Pt. 2/@Heart, Pt. 3
>Exoskeleton: Echoes, Pt.4/Without Regrets, Pt.5
>Exoskeleton: Shucking While Jiving, Pt.6/A Reptile Dysfunction, Pt.7
>Exoskeleton: Metamorphic, Pt.8

Album Remarks & Appraisals:

The Distance represents a grand creative leap for the bassist-composer whose new album showcases his texturally rich compositions for the dynamic 18-piece big band he has playfully dubbed Ensemble Kolossus. The project saw some of the most distinctive musicians on the New York scene bonding to realize Formanek's epic design, as he reimagined what a big-band can be. Channeling sounds from the classic to the modern, he also composed for individual soloists in the Ellingtonian tradition.

Album Notes

Personnel: Michael Formanek (double bass); Mary Halvorson (guitar); Loren Stillman (flute, alto saxophone); Brian Settles (flute, tenor saxophone); Oscar Noriega (clarinet, bass clarinet, alto saxophone); Chris Speed (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Tim Berne (baritone saxophone); Dave Ballou, Ralph Alessi, Shane Endsley (trumpet); Kirk Knuffke (cornet); Ben Gerstein, Jacob Garchik, Alan Ferber (trombone); Jeff Nelson (bass trombone, contrabass trombone); Kris Davis (piano); Patricia Brennan (marimba); Tomas Fujiwara (double bass).

Audio Mixer: David Torn .

Recording information: Systems Two, Brooklyn, NY (12/2014).

Photographer: John Rogers .


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review