1 800 222 6872

Tiga: No Fantasy Required [Slipcase]

Track List

>No Fantasy Required
>Make Me Fall in Love
>3 Rules
>Having So Much Fun
>Tell Me Your Secret
>Planet E
>Don't Break My Heart
>Blondes Have More Fun

Album Reviews:

Pitchfork (Website) - "'Having So Much Fun,' one of the three terrific tracks here co-produced by Matthew Dear, is a strutting, vintage, electro banger, with steeplechase bass and whistles tailoring an immaculately structured, wryly romantic song."

Clash (magazine) - "[The] coexistence of OTT aspiration and genuine hope, the trashy and shattering that very façade, and out and out groove, creates an excellent reality to escape into."

Album Notes

Recording information: Lost Star Studios MTL; Magic Hour Studios, NY; Turbo Recordings HQ Studio, MTL.

Released while the artist was declaring that when it comes to albums, "they don't even matter to me anymore," Tiga's No Fantasy Required is a jumbled mix, featuring some previous singles like 2011's "Plush" and his 2014 collaboration with Pusha T, "Bugatti," although the GOOD Music MC's name has fallen off the track list. Three new collaborations with techno producer Matthew Dear are included, with "Having So Much Fun" standing out thanks to its infectious beat and its borrowing from Lene Lovich's new wave hit "Lucky Number." Hudson Mohawke guests on the silly and stern "Planet E," while Finnish producer and frequent collaborator Jori Hulkkonen receives a handful of editing and co-production credits. The mood is still austere, ironic, and ever so cool as techno collides with house and '80s-flavored electro; just be prepared for a bumpy ride as this one plays out like a singles collection with the looser, lazier B-sides included. ~ David Jeffries


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product