1 800 222 6872

Anton Bruckner: Symphony No. 9 / Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Mariss Jansons

Album Summary

>Bruckner, Anton : Symphony no 9 in D minor, WAB 109
Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Since the tenure of conductor Eduard van Beinum (1945-59), the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra has held one of the finest Bruckner symphonic traditions in the world. Mariss Jansons and the Concertgebouw Orchestra add a new volume to the RCO's remarkable history of Bruckner's works with this release of his Ninth Symphony. "[Jansons's] interpretation proved to be remarkable: never did the first movement's horn introduction sound so primordially mysterious... Jansons's trade marks: his attention to sound and depth, at times evoking a wow feeling, as illustrated by the deeply religious shimmering of the Wagner tubas in the Adagio." (Mischa Spel, NRC)

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Concertgebouw Amsterdam (2014-03-19&2014-03-21&2014-).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Bruckner, Anton : Symphony no 9 in D minor, WAB 109
  • Conductor: Mariss Jansons
  • Ensemble: Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
  • Notes: Concertgebouw Amsterdam (2014-03-19&2014-03-21&2014-)
  • Running Time: 54 min. 2 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1887-1896
  • Studio/Live: Live