1 800 222 6872

Christoph Stiefel Septet: Rhythm-a-tized *

Track List

>Bima Sakti
>Isorhythm # 2.2
>Turning Points
>Lonely Circles
>In & Out of Order
>Aphel & Perihel

Album Remarks & Appraisals:

This septet formed around bandleader and pianist Christoph Stiefel features the European jazz elite including Arne Huber (bass) and Kevin Chesham (drums), with who he also forms the Inner Language Trio. For over a decade, Stiefel has been expanding his musical cosmos - the basic cell of which uses isorhythms from the Middle Ages - in an exemplary manner. Sarah Buechi, whose quartet has caused a stir in recent years, gives the septet a female voice distinguished by an equal amount of expressive power and lyrical suppleness.

Album Notes

Personnel: Christoph Stiefel (piano); Domenic Landolf (flute, bass clarinet, tenor saxophone); Bastian Stein (trumpet, flugelhorn); Adrian Mears (trombone); Kevin Chesham (drums).

Audio Mixer: Stephan van Wylick.

Liner Note Author: Tom Gsteiger.

Recording information: Hardstudios, Winterthur (03/2015).

Photographer: Marco Zanoni.

Translator: Bruce Carnevale.

Arranger: David Grottschreiber.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product