1 800 222 6872

Arthur Honegger and Jacques Ibert: L'Aiglon (The Eaglet), operetta in 5 acts / Anne-Catherine Gillet, Marc Barrard, Étienne Dupuis, Philippe Sly, Hélène Guilmette, Marie-Nicole Lemieux. Kent Nagano, OS Montréal

Album Summary

>Ibert, Jacques [Composer] : L'Aiglon, opera, H. 108
Performers Conductors Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

This first recording of the complete, uncut operetta L'Aiglon (the recording was made at the time of the North American premiere in March 2015) is given with an entirely French or French-speaking cast.

Decca and the Montreal Symphony were synonymous for some of the most stunningly engineered and multi-award winning recordings in the 1980s and 90s. This release, the first in a new multi-album contract, revives this historic partnership with the orchestra's new principal conductor Kent Nagano and in its new home, the Maison symphonique de Montréal.

The OSM recordings, under the Decca label, won about 40 national and international prizes, including two Grammys.

L Aiglon is a charming operetta in five acts with music composed by Arthur Honegger and Jacques Ibert. The libretto by Henri Cain was based on Edmond Rostands 1900 play, L'Aiglon (The Eaglet), about the life of Napoleon II. It was first performed at the Opera de Monte-Carlo on 11 March 1937.

"The OSM played with finesse and Nagano was in control of the shadings of the score. Singers were wearing microphones, which suggests that we can look forward to some old-fashioned - you-are-there - Decca audio." (Montreal Gazette)

Gramophone Magazine, April 2016
Conducted with care and palpable affection by Kent Nagano, [this release] boasts a fine, mostly francophone ensemble cast, with not a weak link anywhere. At its centre... is Anne-Catherine Gillet's Duke, bright in tone and wonderfully subtle... Marc Barrard is the touchingly funny Flambeau, while Etienne Dupuis makes Metternich all the more sinister by singing his music so beautifully. The orchestral sound is gorgeous, as is the recording itself.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: OSM's new home the Maison symphonique de Montréal (2015-03-17&2015-03-19&2015-).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Ibert, Jacques [Composer] : L'Aiglon, opera, H. 108
  • Performers: Isaiah Bell; Pascal Charbonneau; Etienne Dupuis; Anne-Catherine Gillet (Soprano); Hélène Guilmette
  • Conductor: Andrew Megill
  • Ensemble: Orchestre symphonique de Montréal
  • Notes: OSM's new home the Maison symphonique de Montréal (2015-03-17&2015-03-19&2015-)
  • Running Time: 4 min. 54 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1936-1937