1 800 222 6872

Lennox Berkley, Herbert Howells, Gavin Bryars, John Jeffreys: British Music for Harpsichord / Christopher D. Lewis, harpsichord

Notes & Reviews:

Many eminent 20th-century composers have been fascinated by the expressive capabilities of the harpsichord, and this selection unites the instrument's traditional idioms with progressive and highly personal sensibilities. Sir Lennox Berkley's music evinces a distinctive French influence, while Howell's Clavichord is a series of musical portraits of the composer's distinguished friends. Gavin Bryars has deep roots in the avant-garde, but After Handel's "Vesper" is virtuosic yet expressive, while John Jeffreys' Four Little English Dances are delightful tributes to the harpsichord's lyricism. Christopher D. Lewis's other Naxos harpsichord recordings of French music and works by Philip Glass are available on 8.573364 and 8.573146.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased