1 800 222 6872

Carly Simon: Anticipation

Track List

>Legend in Your Own Time
>Our First Day Together
>Girl You Think You See, The
>Summer's Coming Around Again
>Share the End
>Garden, The
>Three Days
>Julie Through the Glass
>I've Got to Have You

Album Reviews:

Rolling Stone (12/23/71, p.66) - "...I don't think Carly Simon wants anything to do with her image as the Woman of the Future...she...is a maturing musician who is a woman and who is making excellent music, and that should be enough for anyone. Forget the labels, listen to the music..."

Album Notes

Personnel: Carly Simon (vocals, acoustic guitar, piano); Jim Ryan (acoustic & electric guitars, bass); Paul Glanz (piano); John Ryan (bass); Andy Newmark (percussion).

Personnel: Carly Simon (acoustic guitar, piano); Jim Ryan (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, electric bass); Paul Glanz (piano); John Ryan (acoustic bass); Andy Newmark (percussion).

Editor: Barry Hammond.

Photographer: Peter Simon.

Carly Simon's second solo album, 1971's ANTICIPATION, went gold and spawned two hit singles in the title track and the lightly mocking "You're So Vain" precursor "Legend in Your Own Time." The acoustic confessionals "Our First Day Together" and "The Garden" show the extent to which Simon was still indebted to folks like Joni Mitchell, but fuller-bodied pop songs like "The Girl You Think You See," and a cover of Kris Kristofferson's "I've Got to Have You," point towards the fuller-bodied soft-rock tunes of future albums.

The album's other highlights are an atypical pair. The samba-like "Summer's Coming Around Again," finds Simon cooing like a huskier Astrud Gilberto, and the oddly disturbing "Share the End," with its glissando piano runs and wailing vocals, sounds like a template for Tori Amos' entire career.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review