1 800 222 6872

Amber Asylum: The Supernatural Parlour Collection [Slipcase]

Track List

>Autonomy Suite - (previously unreleased)
>Blood Red - (previously unreleased)
>Live With This - (previously unreleased)
>Serenade - (previously unreleased)
>Black Lodge
>Black Swan
>Silence of the Setting Sun
>Shepherd, The - (remix)
>Disembodied Healer
>Black Lodge Reprise
>Black Sabbath
>Live With This - (previously unreleased)
>Leather - (previously unreleased)
>I Saw You Fall - (previously unreleased)
>Spheric Train - (previously unreleased)

Album Reviews:

The Wire (1/01, p.68) - "...Bleak neo-classical arrangements...go up against haunting siren songs which...lend the collection a vaguely articulated air of mystical terror..."

Album Notes

Amber Asylum includes: Kris Force (vocals); Mary Burns.

Recorded in Spring 2000.

Personnel: Kris Force (guitar, violin); Jackie Perez Gratz (cello); Cat Gratz (oboe); Jayne Roderick (piano).

Recording information: Aurora House, San Francisco, CA; Pig's Head Studio, San Francisco, CA; Room 13, San Francisco, CA.

Photographers: Jackie Perez Gratz; Kris Force.

With Amber Asylum, Kris Force continues to explore the realms of dark, post-classical, post-gothic music. She creates dark, melancholy visions out of cellos, violins, bass, percussion, and her Nico-like, cold-soul vocal delivery. Substituting stringed instruments for the guitar places Amber Asylum at the intersection of high art and underground culture. The word "black" appears in four out of seven song names here, and the disc builds to a powerful, gloomy conclusion with a version of "Black Sabbath" featuring fierce cello. ~ Tom Schulte


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review