1 800 222 6872

Bob Berg: New Birth

Track List

>You're My Thrill
>This Masquerade
>Magic Carpet
>I'll Let You Know

Album Remarks & Appraisals:

Digitally remastered from the original tapes. Deluxe packaging with a 16-page booklet with original liner notes and new essay by jazz journalist Bill Milkowski plus restored artwork, photos and session notes. Supervised by original producer and Xanadu label head Don Schlitten.

Album Notes

Personnel: Bob Berg (tenor saxophone); Tom Harrell (trumpet, flugelhorn); Cedar Walton (piano, electric piano); Mike Richmond (electric bass); Al Foster (drums); Sam Figueroa (congas, percussion).

Audio Mixer: Paul Goodman .

Liner Note Authors: Zev Feldman; Bill Milkowski.

Recording information: RCA Studios, New York City (05/12/1978).

Photographers: Don Schlitten; Monty Yoss.

Tenor saxophonist Bob Berg's debut as a leader is mostly in the bop vein although he does his best to break down the boundaries a bit. With trumpeter Tom Harrell sharing the frontline and Cedar Walton (on both acoustic and electric piano) heading the fine rhythm section, Berg performs four group originals, the classic ballad "You're My Thrill," and a reworking of "This Masquerade." It's an impressive debut for the young tenor. ~ Scott Yanow


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review