1 800 222 6872

Chopin: Piano Concerto No. 1 in E minor / Grigory Sokolov, piano; Munich PO, Witold Rowicki

Notes & Reviews:

Russian pianist Grigory Sokolov (b. 1950) entered the Leningrad Conservatory at the age of seven to study under Leah Zelikhman. He gained international fame after winning the 1966 International Tchaikovsky Piano Competition. This release features Chopin's Piano Concerto No. 1. Written when Chopin was only twenty years old, it was premiered by the composer himself in Warsaw during a "farewell" concert before he left Poland. Accompanying Sokolov is the outstanding Munich Philharmonic Orchestra.

Gramophone Magazine, May 2016
No comparisons. An extraordinary document, with Solokov's integrity and humanity illuminating every bar.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review