1 800 222 6872

Verdi: Luisa Miller, opera / Aprile Millo, soprano; Placido Domingo, tenor; Vladimir Chernov, baritone; Metropolitan Opera Orchestra and Choir, James Levine

Album Summary

>Verdi, Giuseppe : Luisa Miller
Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

In his unparalleled association with New York's Metropolitan stretching over four decades, that uniquely versatile maestro James Levine has amassed an astonishing repertoire of 85 operas. In this latest batch of reissues, he is represented with Verdi's Luisa Miller. Gramophone's reviewer wrote of this 1991 Met recording: "I first encountered Levine conducting this work, one he particularly loves, at the Metropolitan in 1971, and was mightily impressed with his Verdian credentials. A youthful tenor called Domingo was the Rodolfo. Here they are, many years later, tackling their parts again. Energy and internal combustion were the special features of Levine's reading in the theatre; they are again in evidence here ... Domingo's Rodolfo is generous in tone and phrase ... As Luisa, Aprile Millo rises finely to the sad, doomed girl of Act 3. 'Ah! l'ultima preghiera' is delivered in that plangent, piano tone of which we know she is mistress. A little earlier in the act, she and Vladimir Chernov draw all the tenderness and plaintive beauty out of 'Andrem, raminghi e poveri': this is Verdi singing of the highest class in both tone and feeling."

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Manhattan Center, New York (1991-05-02&1991-05-04&1991-).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Verdi, Giuseppe : Luisa Miller
  • Conductor: James Levine
  • Ensemble: Metropolitan Opera Orchestra and Choir
  • Notes: Manhattan Center, New York (1991-05-02&1991-05-04&1991-)
  • Running Time: 70 min. 24 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1849