1 800 222 6872

Amber Asylum: Natural Philosophy of Love [Slipcase]

Track List

>Looking Glass
>Song of the Spider War
>Jorinda and Joringel
>Looking Glass Reprise
>I Have a Bonnet - (previously unreleased)
>Avenging and Bright - (previously unreleased)

Album Notes

Personnel: Kris Force (vocals, violin); Annabel Lee (violin).

Recording information: Aurora House, San Francisco, CA; Hank Smith Music, San Francisco, CA.

Photographer: Kris Force.

If Lisa Germano, the Cocteau Twins, Julee Cruise, and Dead Can Dance ever collaborated on an album, the results would likely sound quite similar to the second album by San Francisco dream pop collective Amber Asylum. Leader Kris Force dominates the proceedings with her icy soprano vocals and haunting violin work, but these focal points are adrift in a hazy, slowly shifting soundscape of electronic keyboards, heavily processed guitars, minimal drums, and, of course, buckets and buckets of reverb. Force was clearly heavily influenced by This Mortal Coil's similarly ghostly It'll End in Tears, as made obvious by the mournful, elegiac cover of Buffy Sainte-Marie's "Poppies" -- on which Force is a vocal dead ringer for Elizabeth Fraser -- which ends the album. (Ivo Watts-Russell is probably still kicking himself for not thinking of that one first.) Essential listening for anyone who wore nothing but black for at least one semester of high school, to be sure, but The Natural Philosophy of Love is so richly detailed and at times spine-tinglingly pretty that it's not just for recovering goths. ~ Stewart Mason


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review