1 800 222 6872

Nothing (Shoegaze): Tired of Tomorrow

Track List

>Fever Queen
>Dead Are Dumb, The
>Vertigo Flowers
>ACD (Abcessive Compulsive Disorder)
>Nineteen Ninety Heaven
>Curse of the Sun
>Eaten by Worms
>Everyone Is Happy
>Our Plague
>Tired of Tomorrow

Album Reviews:

NME (Magazine) - "A melancholy blend of shoegaze, hardcore and alt rock overlaid with Palermo's dark and dreamy vocals."

Album Notes

Personnel: Domenic Palermo, Brandon Setta (vocals, guitar); Nick Bassett (piano, bass guitar); Kyle Kimball (drums).

Audio Mixer: Will Yip.

Photographer: Domenic Palermo.

After the release of their impressively dark and beautiful debut album, Guilty of Everything, in early 2014, Nothing had a stretch of bad luck and close calls that would have broken most bands. Maybe it was resolve picked up during his time in prison, but the band's frontman Domenic Palermo was able to persevere through a serious mugging that left him in the hospital, the ridiculous label shenanigans that returned the group to Relapse, and an ugly twitter scandal that severely tested a friendship between bandmates, to deliver the band's second album, Tired of Tomorrow, in May of 2016. On it, the band sticks closely to the shoegaze sound of Guilty, while adding Mellotrons, pianos, and even more '90s (grunge, Nirvana) influence. Palermo and Brandon Setta construct a huge wall of guitars on most of the songs, but with less heavy metal and more dream pop this time around. The riffs swirl like smoke, rather than pummel, and the overall feel of the album is lighter and far less intense. Musically, anyway, since the lyrics and melodies are still somewhere far south of melancholy. The album features some moments of shoegaze beauty, like the soaring "ACD (Abcessive Compulsive Disorder)," and they do go back to the metal well occasionally, like on the thudding "Eaten by Worms." ~ Tim Sendra


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review