1 800 222 6872

Louis Vierne (1870-1937): Violin Sonata, Op. 23; Piano Quintet in C minor, Op. 42 / Judith Ingolfsson, violin; Vladimir Stoupel, piano

Album Summary

>Vierne, Louis : Sonata for violin & piano in G minor, Op 23
>Vierne, Louis : Quintet for 2 violins, viola, cello & piano in C minor, Op 42
Performers Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Violinist Judith Ingolfsson and pianist Vladimir Stoupel are both accomplished soloists with international concert careers. In 2006, they began a successful collaboration, searching for new paths in chamber music and devoting themselves to the cultivation of an uncommon repertoire. One of their projects is "Concert-Centenaire," dedicated to composers whose lives were influenced by the First World War. The life of French composer Louis Vierne (1870-1937), a pupil of César Franck, was marked by terrible blows of fate, and yet he reached the heights of the compositional profession in spite of the difficult times in which he lived. Almost blind from birth, Vierne became the organist of Notre-Dame cathedral in Paris and was celebrated during his lifetime as both a soloist and a composer. Today his works are for the most part - unjustly - ignored. This recording seeks to restore them to their rightful place. The richly nuanced Sonata in G minor for violin and piano was commissioned by the renowned virtuoso Eugène Ysaÿe, who played the triumphant first performance of the work in 1908. The Piano Quintet in C minor is dedicated to Vierne's son, who was killed in the First World War. This piece is widely acknowledged as Vierne's finest chamber music composition and is notable for its bold emotionality as well as its masterful construction.

Classical Music, August 2016
[The Sonata] is a tricky work to bring off, a feat the current artists achieve with aplomb. The quintet is even more rapt, dedicated to Vierne's late son, and again the performance here more than does it justice. With warm, clear recorded sound this is enthusiastically recommended.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Studio Britz, Berlin (04/2015).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Vierne, Louis : Sonata for violin & piano in G minor, Op 23
  • Performers: Judith Ingolfsson (Violin); Vladimir Stoupel (Piano)
  • Running Time: 38 min. 39 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Written: 1906

>Vierne, Louis : Quintet for 2 violins, viola, cello & piano in C minor, Op 42
  • Performers: Stefan Fehlandt (Viola); Stephan Forck (Cello); Judith Ingolfsson (Violin); Rebecca Li (Violin); Vladimir Stoupel (Piano)
  • Running Time: 36 min. 22 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Chamber Music
  • Written: 1917