1 800 222 6872

Rich Robinson (Black Crowes): Through a Crooked Sun [Bonus Tracks] [Digipak]

Track List

>Gone Away
>It's Not Easy
>Lost and Found
>I Don't Hear the Sound of You
>Hey Fear
>All Along the Way
>Follow You Forever
>Standing on the Surface of the Sun
>Bye Bye Baby
>Falling Again
>Station Man
>Fire Around
>It's Not Easy - (previously unreleased)
>Falling Again - (previously unreleased)

Album Notes

Audio Mixers: Chris Bittner; Mike Birnbaum.

Liner Note Author: Rich Robinson .

Recording information: Applehead Studios.

So enamored with the `70s he's decided to revive the decade all on his own, Black Crowes guitarist Rich Robinson can certainly create a vibe by stitching together remnants of the past. Equal parts Santana, Stones, Allmans, and acoustic Zeppelin, Through a Crooked Sun meanders amiably even if the music is largely reflective, not cheerful. Like Paper, his 2004 debut, this is decidedly a players record, but where that album felt overstuffed with guitars, Through a Crooked Sun relies on textures, all unveiled at a measured, mature pace. Robinson is an affectless singer, something that undercuts the introspection of the lyrics, yet his music has color, alternating from extended interpolations of the back half of "Can't You Hear Me Knocking" to stark, ringing folk, all punctuated by Southern rockers that ramble instead of rush. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review