1 800 222 6872

John Surman: Morning Glory [Digipak]

Track List

>Cloudless Sky
>Iron Man
>Norwegian Steel/Septimus
>Hinc Illae Lacrimae (Hence These Tears)/For Us All

Album Notes

Audio Remasterer: Jan Erik.

Recording information: The Marlowe Theatre, Canterbury (03/12/1973).

Photographer: Fin Costello.

For Morning Glory, John Surman sets aside his signature baritone saxophone in favor of soprano sax, bass clarinet, and synthesizer -- the result is a record as radiant and beautiful as its title portends, comprised of four epic tracks that despite their scope represent his most mainstream work to date. The skill and dexterity of the improvisations here are astounding. Surman and sidemen Terje Rypdal (guitar), Chris Laurence (bass), John Taylor (electric piano), Malcolm Griffiths (trombone), and John Marshall (drums) connect on an almost telepathic level. But for all its experimental approaches and ingenious ad-libbing, Morning Glory is a remarkably generous album, inviting and approachable like few avant-jazz dates before it. So much of Surman's brilliance hinges on his refusal to alienate listeners regardless of their personal leanings and expectations, while at the same remaining true to his singular muse. ~ Jason Ankeny


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product