1 800 222 6872

Pro-Pain: The Truth Hurts [Digipak]

Track List

>Make War (Not Love)
>Bad Blood
>Truth Hurts, The
>Put the Lights Out
>Let Sleeping Dogs Lie
>One Man Army
>Down in the Dumps
>Beast Is Back, The
>Switchblade Knife

Album Reviews:

Alternative Press (11/94, p.96) - "...if you're into the edge of the sword that runs through hardcore and thrash, that's right where you'll find the latest from Pro-Pain..."

Album Notes

Pro-Pain: Gary Meskil (vocals, bass); Nick St. Denis (guitar); Dan Richardson (drums).

Additional personnel: Ice-T (vocals); Poppy (saxophone).

Recorded at Pyramid Sound, Ithaca, New York and at Devonshire Studios, North Hollywood, California.

Personnel: Gary Meskil (vocals); Nick St. Denis (guitar); Dan Richardson (drums).

Liner Note Author: Gary Meskil.

Recording information: Devonshire Studios, North Hollywood, CA; Pyramid Sound, Ithaca, NY.

While Pro-Pain and Biohazard could be considered quite similar both stylistically and in their subject matter (the decay of urban America), Biohazard was always more interested in fusing their sound with hardcore hip-hop, whereas Pro-Pain's crushing grooves took more from hardcore punk and thrash. Still, subtle elements of rap could be detected, as well as overt ones, such as the Ice-T collaboration "Denial" which highlights the quartet's second album, The Truth Hurts. Overall, the tone and subject matter are darker than the album's predecessor, Foul Taste of Freedom, which actually seems like a purer expression of the band's intentions. The initial album artwork featured actual crime-scene photos which were shelved due to controversy over their graphic nature. ~ Steve Huey


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review