1 800 222 6872

Pro-Pain: Foul Taste of Freedom [Digipak]

Track List

>Foul Taste of Freedom
>Death on the Dance Floor
>Murder 101
>Pound for Pound
>Every Good Boy Does Fine
>Death Goes On
>Stench of Piss, The
>Picture This
>Johnny Black
>Lesson Learned - (featuring Lizzi Hunter)
>God Only Knows
>Take It Back (Lost Track)
>Pound for Pound [Remix] - (remix)

Album Notes

Pro-Pain: Gary Meskil (vocals, bass); Tom Klimchuck (guitar); Dan Richardson (drums).

Additional personnel: Mark Mays (guitar); Gary M. McCheyne (horns).

Recorded at Pyramid Sound Studios, Ithaca, New York.

Personnel: Gary Meskil (vocals); Mark Mays, Tom Klimchuck (guitar); Gary M. McCheyne (horns); Dan Richardson (drums).

Audio Mixer: Alex Perialas.

Audio Remasterer: V.O. Pulver.

Liner Note Author: Gary Meskil.

Recording information: Pyramid Sound Recording Studios, Ithaca, New York.

When Pro-Pain's debut album, Foul Taste of Freedom, it fit neatly into the urban hardcore/rap-metal hybrid inspired by Anthrax and epitomized by Biohazard. The rap influence was subtle, apparent in the rhythmically shouted vocals and an occasional funked-up drum flourish, but it wasn't wildly different from hardcore/metal mosh bands like M.O.D. Its classification probably had more to do with the time-frame in which it was released -- Anthrax's duet with Public Enemy on "Bring the Noise" was fresh in metal fans' minds, and other well-publicized collaborations were in the offing, so the hardened, street-level aggression of Foul Taste of Freedom was perhaps credited to hardcore hip-hop a bit more than it should have been. Whatever its classification, though, Foul Taste of Freedom packs a wallop; even when Pro-Pain's riff-writing skills lapse, they have the power and aggression to remain a punishingly heavy sonic force. "Pound for Pound" was something of a success on MTV's Headbanger's Ball specialty show. ~ Steve Huey


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review