1 800 222 6872

Paul von Klenau (1883-1946): Symphony No. 9 / Cornelia Ptassek, soprano. Susanne Resmark, alto. Michael Weinius, tenor. Steffen Bruun, bass. Michael Schonwandt, Danish National SO & Concert Choir

Album Summary

>Klenau, Paul von : Symphony no 9, for soloists, chorus & orchestra
Conductor Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Paul von Klenau's (1883-1946) grandiose Ninth Symphony in eight movements was composed in Copenhagen 1945 as his last major work; an extraordinary fusion of a Requiem with Latin text and a traditional symphony for orchestra, choir and four soloists. The manuscript then lay unknown for more than fifty years until it appeared in the 2001 discovery of a large collection of Klenau manuscripts in Vienna, and not until March 2014 - after a thorough editing by the Royal Library in Copenhagen - did it receive its first performance by the Danish National Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Michael Schønwandt. This world premiere recording presents the full symphony; a magnificent opus of both tonal, atonal and even twelve-tone passages, very far removed from the style that predominated in the post-Nielsen Danish music of the 1940s.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: DR Koncerthuset, Copenhagen (03/20/2014-03/21/2014).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Klenau, Paul von : Symphony no 9, for soloists, chorus & orchestra
  • Conductor: Michael Schoenwandt
  • Ensemble: Danish National Symphony Orchestra
  • Notes: DR Koncerthuset, Copenhagen (03/20/2014-03/21/2014)
  • Running Time: 87 min. 29 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1945
  • Studio/Live: Live