1 800 222 6872

Wagner: Parsifal / Waltraud Meier, Siegfried Jerusalem, Matthias Holle, José van Dam, Gunter von Kannen, John Tomlinson. Berlin PO & State Opera Chorus, Barenboim

Album Summary

>Wagner, Richard : Parsifal
Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

"Barenboim is always most impressively heard in works of the grandest, most soul-searching kind – and he meets splendidly this most formidable challenge of all," wrote Gramophone when this Parsifal, recorded in the famous Jesus-Christus Kirche with the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, was released in 1991. Siegfried Jerusalem is golden-toned in the title role, Waltraud Meier proves why she was the defining Kundry of her era and, as Amfortas, José van Dam suffers with the utmost nobility. from The Home of Opera series

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Jesus-Christus-Kirche, Berlin - Dahlem (1989-12-??&1990-01-??&1990-).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Wagner, Richard : Parsifal
  • Conductor: Daniel Barenboim
  • Ensemble: Deutsche State Opera Chorus
  • Notes: Jesus-Christus-Kirche, Berlin - Dahlem (1989-12-??&1990-01-??&1990-)
  • Running Time: 171 min. sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1878-1882