1 800 222 6872

Hardanger Fiddle in Art Music: Work by Johan Halvorsen (1864-1935), Johan Kvandal (1919-1999) & Sven Nyhus (b.1932) / Åshild Breie Nyhus, hardanger fiddle; Ingfrid Breie Nyhus, piano

Album Summary

>Halvorsen, Johan : Fossegrimen, incidental music, Op. 21
>Nyhus, Sven : Works (3) for Hardanger Fiddle
>Kvandal, Johan : Fantasia for Hardanger fiddle & strings, Op. 50
Performers Composers

Notes & Reviews:

Resurrecting the mystical powers of the Hardanger fiddle The second album by the sisters shild and Ingfrid Breie Nyhus is deeply rooted in a wonderful meeting between the Norwegian folk music and art music. The Hardanger fiddle - in all its mythical glory - is at the heart of the sisters' latest recording, an instrument which played a significant role in the nation-building of 19th centurys Norway. However, the Hardanger fiddle was not just a mere musical instrument: in the Norwegian folklore it functioned as a direct contact with the underworld. Halvorsens 'Fossegrimen', based on the story of Myllarguten - said to have been taught by the Grim himself, and paying for it with his soul - is a perfect example in this regard. Through this work, as well as works by Sven Nyhus and Johan Kvandal, two highly prominent composers with regard to the Hardanger fiddles importance in the art musical world, the Nyhus-sisters perfectly evokes powerful nature images and at the same time demonstrates the highly successful meeting between folk music and classical music. Performed by two of the most skillful musicians in the intersection between folk music and classical music, the result is far more than beautiful - it evokes moods from the deepest reaches of the Norwegian folklores amazing world.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Jar Kirke, Norway (05/23/2013-05/27/2013).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Halvorsen, Johan : Fossegrimen, incidental music, Op. 21
  • Performer: Ingfrid Nyhus (Piano)
  • Running Time: 15 min. 31 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Written: 1904

>Nyhus, Sven : Works (3) for Hardanger Fiddle
  • Performer: Åshild Nyhus (Hardanger Fiddle)
  • Running Time: 14 min. 26 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Written: 1979-1982

>Kvandal, Johan : Fantasia for Hardanger fiddle & strings, Op. 50
  • Performers: Per Bjorkum (Violin); Åshild Nyhus (Hardanger Fiddle); Anders Rensvik (Viola); Audun Sandvik (Cello); Per Skalstad (Violin)
  • Running Time: 8 min. 30 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern