1 800 222 6872

Tchaikovksy: Symphony No. 6; Borodin: Polovtsian Dances / Iván Fischer, Budapest Festival Orchestra

Album Summary

>Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilyich : Symphony no 6 in B minor ("Pathétique"), Op. 74
>Borodin, Alexander : Prince Igor
Conductor Ensembles Composers

Notes & Reviews:

Ivn Fischer is founder and Music Director of the Budapest Festival Orchestra. This partnership has become one of the greatest success stories in the past thirty years of classical music. On this SACD release from Channel Classics, they perform Tchakovsky's Symphony No.6, which was premiered just nine days before the composer's death. The truly Russian mood that we associate with Tchaikovsky is also felt in the music of Borodin. His opera Prince Igor remained incomplete when he died, however the well-known Polovtsian Dances, recorded here, became a standard of the orchestral repertoire.

Sunday Times, 2nd October 2016
The sheer natural musicality of Fischer's Budapest players is, as always, refreshing...the March is poised and brilliant, and if the finale could be even darker, it is eloquently played.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Palace of Arts, Budapest (01/2014).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilyich : Symphony no 6 in B minor ("Pathétique"), Op. 74
  • Conductor: Iván Fischer
  • Ensemble: Czech Philharmonic Choir
  • Running Time: 46 min. sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1893

>Borodin, Alexander : Prince Igor :: Choral Dance no 17 (Polovtsian Dances)
  • Conductor: Iván Fischer
  • Running Time: 11 min. 53 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1869-1887