1 800 222 6872

Beethoven: Triple Concerto; Brahms: Double Concerto / Isaac Stern, violin; Leonard Rose, cello; Eugene Istomin, piano; Georg Szell, Cleveland Orchestra

Conductor Ensemble

Notes & Reviews:

This release features three of the greatest musicians of the twentieth century, and some would even argue of all time: violinist Isaac Stern, cellist Leonard Rose, pianist Eugene Istomin, and conductor Georg Szell. These musicians, in addition to their illustrious solo careers, formed a trio which performed all over the world for many years. These live performances from July 13, 1966 include Beethoven's Triple Concerto for Violin, Cello and Piano in C major, Op. 56, as well as Brahms Double Concerto for Violin and Cello in A minor, Op. 102. The capable Cleveland Orchestra paints a beautiful backdrop for these musicians without overcoming them in any way. Leonard Rose is without a doubt one of the most prominent cellists and pedagogues of the twentieth century. After completing his schooling at Philadelphia's Curtis Insitute of Music, he joined the NBC Symphony Orchestra under Arturo Toscanini and almost immediately became associate principal. At 21 he became principal of the Cleveland Orchestra, and just five years later principal of the New York Philharmonic. American pianist Eugene Istomin was a child prodigy. When he was only twelve years old he entered the Curtis Institute, and at seventeen won the Philadelphia Youth Award. He debuted with the Philadelphia Orchestra and the New York Philharmonic the same week in 1943. Ukranian born Isaac Stern moved to San Francisco when he was only 14 months old. He enrolled at the San Francisco Conservatory where he studied under Naoum Blinder. At fifteen he made his public debut with the San Francisco Symphony performing Sant-Saens' Violin Concerto no. 3.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased