1 800 222 6872

Modern English: After the Snow

Track List

>Someone's Calling
>Life in the Gladhouse
>Face of Wood
>Dawn Chorus
>I Melt With You
>After the Snow
>Carry Me Down
>Tables Turning
>Someone's Calling
>Life in the Gladhouse
>I Melt With You [7" Mix] - (remix)
>Prize, The
>Life in the Gladhouse
>Choisest View, The

Album Notes

Modern English: Robbie Grey (vocals); Gary McDowell (guitar); Michael Conroy (violin, bass); Stephen Walker (keyboards); Richard Brown (drums, percussion).

The CD version of this release includes the LIFE IN THE GLADHOUSE EP and a single version of "I Melt With You."

Personnel: Robbie Grey (vocals); Gary McDowell (guitar); Michael Conroy (violin); Stephen Walker (keyboards); Richard Brown (drums, percussion).

Recording information: Alvic Studios; Rockfield; Spaceward.

If you lived through the '80s without hearing Modern English then you must have been on a desert island. AFTER THE SNOW's "I Melt With You" is the quintessential new wave love song; the phrase "mesh and lace," as used in that hit tune, defined the style adopted by other groups in the New Romantic vein, bands whose recordings and images were characterized by emotional sensitivity and a jaded hardness.

AFTER THE SNOW yielded only one hit for Modern English, despite the fact that the entire album is pop material. Guitar-driven melodies colored with atmospheric synth work give the album a romantic edge. Songs such as "Someone's Calling" and "Life in the Gladhouse" attest to the fact that Modern English was more than a one-trick pony, while "Dawn Chorus" and "Carry Me Down" are sheer sonic poetry. AFTER THE SNOW is well deserving of its classic status.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review