1 800 222 6872

Beethoven: Symphony No. 9 / Stefan Blunier, Beethoven Orchester Bonn

Album Summary

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Symphony no 9 in D minor, Op. 125 "Choral"
Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Stefan Blunier calls on the services of an absolutely outstanding vocal ensemble for the magnificent cantata in the last movement: the Brno Philharmonic Choir, a proven partner of the MDG label, masters the feared choral part with unmatched expressive power and energy. And the perfect ensemble blend formed by the four soloists produces a rarely heard, vocally strong balance rendered with unique audio glory on this finely nuanced 3-D recording on this dual layer hybrid Super Audio CD.

Stefan Blunier is a Swiss conductor. He began studying music in his native city of Bern, then concentrated his energies on piano, horn, composition, and conducting when he attended the Folkwang Hochschule in Essen. As a student, he founded a new music ensemble and performed as a piano soloist and an accompanist in lieder recitals. Since 2008, Blunier has served as the general music director of the city of Bonn, where he is responsible for performances by the Beethoven Orchester Bonn and the Bonn Opera.

Memory of the World, Anthem of the European Union, New Year's All-Time Great - the sublime significance assigned by the general public and music critics to "Beethoven's Ninth" means that its artistic core is sometimes obscured. As the latest release by the Beethoven Orchestra of Bonn magnificently demonstrates, however, this symphony has plenty to offer even before the titanic finale on Schiller's idealistic "Ode to Joy." From the initial fifth interval's ex nihilo to the fateful outbursts at the beginning of the finale, Stefan Blunier develops a compelling plot line making this full-length work an enthralling Super Audio experience.

Beethoven's monumental opus by no means met with unanimous approval among his contemporaries. The unexpected appearance of vocal parts in the finale was too innovative, and the work's gigantic dimensions were simply too huge. As things turned out, this symphony's length someday would even set the limits for a CD's maximum playing time.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Bonn, Beethovenhalle (12/17/2015-12/19/2015).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Symphony no 9 in D minor, Op. 125 "Choral"
  • Conductor: Stefan Blunier
  • Ensemble: Beethoven Orchester Bonn
  • Notes: Bonn, Beethovenhalle (12/17/2015-12/19/2015)
  • Running Time: 42 min. 34 sec.
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1824