1 800 222 6872

Beethoven: Symphony No. 9 / Elisabeth Schwarzkopf, soprano; Marga Höffgen, contralto; Ernst Haefliger, tenor; Otto Edelmann, bass; Philharmonia Orchestra, Herbert von Karajan

Album Summary

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Symphony no 9 in D minor, Op. 125 "Choral"
Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Herbert von Karajan made his first - and perhaps most thrilling - recording of the complete Beethoven Symphonies with the Philharmonia Orchestra in the early 1950's. The set, a jewel of the Warner Classics catalogue, was recorded in mono, but an experimental stereo version of the 9th Symphony was made in parallel at the sessions in Vienna. This, taken from the original tapes, is its first release as a single CD.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Musikvereinssaal, Vienna (07/24/1955-07/29/1955).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Symphony no 9 in D minor, Op. 125 "Choral"
  • Conductor: Herbert Karajan
  • Ensemble: Philharmonia Orchestra
  • Notes: Musikvereinssaal, Vienna (07/24/1955-07/29/1955)
  • Running Time: 65 min. 32 sec.
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1824