1 800 222 6872

Anathema: Falling Deeper [Digipak]

Track List

>Sleep in Sanity
>They Die
>J'ai Fait Une Promesse
>We the Gods
>Sunset of Age

Album Notes

Audio Mixers: Daniel Cavanagh; Andrea Wright.

Recording information: Angel Studios, London.

Given Anathema's gradual transformation from gothic doom metal merchants to sophisticated prog rockers over the course of many personnel changes since the mid-'90s, an album like Falling Deeper was a logical one. The band first revisited select moments from its catalog on the unplugged offering Hindsight in 2008. For some, it foretold the end. Then the band surprised many by returning in 2010 with new ideas and a renewed sense of purpose on the musically and sonically expansive -- yet utterly accessible -- We're Here Because We're Here, which drew raves from critics. But digging into their oeuvre was an unsatisfied hunger for Anathema's founding brothers, Daniel and Vincent Cavanagh (who are in the company of Jamie Cavanagh and John and Lee Douglas here). For Falling Deeper they've cherry-picked nine more selections from their recorded history and thoroughly rearranged and re-recorded them with arranger Dave Stewart and the London Session Orchestra led by Perry Montague-Mason. Further, they've enlisted the help of vocalist Anneke van Giersbergen, formerly of the Gathering. In essence, this set is for longtime fans only. The music is beautifully arranged, performed, and produced. Textures and atmospheres highlight Daniel Cavanagh's already brilliant melodies. ~ Thom Jurek


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review