1 800 222 6872

Rachmaninoff: Symphony No. 2 / Mariss Jansons, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra

Album Summary

>Rachmaninov, Sergey : Symphony no 2 in E minor, Op. 27
Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Russian pianist, composer, and conductor Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873-1943) is regarded as one of the most important and influential composers of the twentieth century. He composed his Symphony No. 2 in E minor, Op. 27 in 1906-1907. Rachmaninoff's second symphony premiered in St. Petersburg on February 8, 1908, with the composer conducting. Originally, the work was dedicated to Sergei Taneyev, a Russian composer and teacher who studied under Tchaikovsky. The Second Symphony is one of Rachmaninoff's most popular works. The Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra is conducted for this recording by Chief Conductor Mariss Jansons, who served the orchestra from 2004 until 2015. He conducted his final concert with the orchestra in the presence of Queen Maxima.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Rachmaninov, Sergey : Symphony no 2 in E minor, Op. 27
  • Conductor: Mariss Jansons
  • Ensemble: Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
  • Notes: Concertgebouw Amsterdam (2010-01-28_2010-01-29&2010-)
  • Running Time: 55 min. 8 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1906-1907
  • Studio/Live: Live