1 800 222 6872

Billy Eckstine: No Cover, No Minimum

Album Notes

Personnel includes: Billy Eckstine (vocals, trumpet); Charlie McLean, Buddy Balboa (saxophone); Charlie Walp (trumpet); Bucky Manieri (trombone); Bobby Tucker (piano); Buddy Grievey (drums).

Producer: Teddy Reig.

Reissue producer: Michael Cuscuna.

Recorded live at the Cloud Nine Lounge of the New Frontier Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevada on August 30, 1960. Includes liner notes by Will Friedwald.

This CD has an unusual cover picture showing Billy Eckstine singing while holding a trumpet. He does indeed take a few short trumpet solos on the well-rounded program, 24 songs (13 previously unissued) performed during one night in Las Vegas. Eckstine, who is backed by an orchestra arranged by his pianist Bobby Tucker, is heard in prime form on a variety of standards. His baritone voice (which was quite influential) straddles the boundary between middle-of-the-road pop and jazz on such numbers as "I've Grown Accustomed to Her Face," "Without a Song," "Prisoner of Love," "I Apologize", "Alright, Okay, You Win" and "'Deed I Do." A good example of his talents. ~ Scott Yanow


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review