1 800 222 6872

Fleetwood Mac: Mirage [Expanded Edition] [Slipcase]

Track List

>Love in Store
>Can't Go Back
>That's Alright
>Book of Love
>Only Over You
>Empire State
>Straight Back
>Hold Me
>Oh Diane
>Eyes of the World
>Wish You Were Here
>Love in Store [Early Version] - (previously unreleased)
>Suma's Walk (aka Can't Go Back) [Outtake] - (previously unreleased, take)
>That's Alright [Alternate Take] - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
>Book of Love [Early Version] - (previously unreleased)
>Gypsy [Early Version] - (previously unreleased)
>Only Over You [Alternate Version] - (previously unreleased)
>Empire State [Early Version] - (previously unreleased)
>If You Were My Love [Outtake] - (previously unreleased, take)
>Hold Me [Early Version] - (previously unreleased)
>Oh Diane [Early Version] - (previously unreleased)
>Smile at You [Outtake] - (previously unreleased, take)
>Goodbye Angel [Original Outtake] - (previously unreleased, take)
>Eyes of the World [Alternate Early Version] - (previously unreleased)
>Wish You Were Here [Alternate Version] - (previously unreleased)
>Cool Water - (previously unreleased)
>Gypsy [Video Version] - (previously unreleased)
>Put a Candle in the Window [Run-Through] - (previously unreleased)
>Teen Beat [Outtake] - (previously unreleased, take)
>Blue Monday [Jam] - (previously unreleased)
>[Untitled] - (previously unreleased)

Album Reviews:

Uncut (magazine) - "'Gypsy' wistfully invokes her pre-fame existence of second-hand lace and mattresses on the floor, creating a powerful affirmation of the Nicks brand. The melody may be slight but it's kept airborne by some classic Mac magic: sighed harmonies, a chiming riff and Nicks' stunning vocals..."

Album Notes

Fleetwood Mac: Lindsey Buckingham (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Christine McVie (vocals, keyboards); Stevie Nicks (vocals); John McVie (bass); Mick Fleetwood (drums, percussion).

Additional personnel: Ray Lindsey (guitar).

Producers: Fleetwood Mac, Lindsey Buckingham, Richard Dashut, Ken Caillat.

Recorded at Le Chateau, Herouville, France; Larrabee Sound & The Record Plant, Los Angeles, California.

Personnel: Lindsey Buckingham (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Christine McVie (vocals, keyboards); Stevie Nicks (vocals); Mick Fleetwood (drums, percussion).

Illustrator: Larry Vigon.

Photographers: Mac James; George Hurrell.

After the 1979 release of the precocious but misunderstood double album TUSK, which fell disappointingly below the mind-blowing sales of 1977's multi-platinum RUMOURS, the band decided to take a safer route for their next release. In sunny contrast to the melancholy introspection of TUSK, 1982's MIRAGE returned the band to bright melodies and hit single material. The advent of MTV led the band to release two artistic videos in conjunction with the record, the Magritte-inspired desert fantasy of "Hold Me," Christine McVie's lush, pleading love song, and the handsome, Depression-era daydream of "Gypsy," one of Nicks' prettiest signature tunes.

The jangling bonhomie of MIRAGE even affects Buckingham's darker songs; though lyrically heartbroken, on "Book of Love" Buckingham sounds almost cheerful. His husky "Empire State" is a love-giddy ode to New York. Nicks' "Straight Back" feels spiritually tied to the duskier tone of her 1981 solo album BELLADONNA, and the mistress of the moon even tries her hand at country with the twanging lope of "That's Alright." Christine McVie's shimmering ballad "Only Over You" is one of MIRAGE's strongest tracks. Though not one of Fleetwood Mac's legendary albums, MIRAGE is still strong when held against the fierce competition of the band's exceptional catalogue.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product