1 800 222 6872

Igor Stravinsky: Pétrouchka (Original Version from 1911), version for orchestra & for Piano 4 hands / Sinfonieorchester Basel. Dennis Russell Davies & Maki Namekawa, pianos

Album Summary

>Stravinsky, Igor : Pétrouchka
>Stravinsky, Igor : Petrushka, ballet (burlesque) in 4 scenes for piano, 4 hands (1912 & 1948 reductions)
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

This new recording of Stravinsky's "Petrouchka" by the Sinfornieorchester Basel is the third and final installment in conductor Dennis Russell Davies' Stravinsky trilogy. In this project, the orchestra has recorded Stravinsky's three major ballets in a version for orchestra and piano duet. Stravinsky originally planned this composition as a Piano Concerto. After the idea of a ballet from Sergei Diaghilev, Stravinsky rewrote the music about Petrushka, the Russian carnival figure. The piece was first performed at the Theatre du Chatalet in June of 1911. Critics hailed the work as a genius combination of music, dance, and painting. In addition to the orchestral score, Stravinsky wrote a piano version, which has gained increasing popularity. Dennis Russell Davies has been chief conductor of the Sinfonieorchester Basel since 2009. In addition to the Stravinsky trilogy he has led the ensemble in numerous other recordings. He also performs on the piano version on this release, alongside partner Maki Namekawa.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Musiktheater Linz (04/22/2016-04/24/2016); Stadtcasino Basel (04/22/2016-04/24/2016); Musiktheater Linz (08/25/2015-08/27/2015); Stadtcasino Basel (08/25/2015-08/27/2015).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Stravinsky, Igor : Pétrouchka
  • Conductor: Dennis Davies
  • Ensemble: Sinfonieorchestster Basel
  • Notes: Stadtcasino Basel (08/25/2015-08/27/2015)
  • Running Time: 33 min. 22 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Ballet
  • Written: 1911

>Stravinsky, Igor : Petrushka, ballet (burlesque) in 4 scenes for piano, 4 hands (1912 & 1948 reductions)
  • Performers: Maki Namekawa (Piano); Dennis Davies (Piano)
  • Notes: Musiktheater Linz (04/22/2016-04/24/2016)
  • Running Time: 5 min. 56 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Written: 1912