1 800 222 6872

Barren Earth: The Curse of the Red River

Track List

>Curse of the Red River
>Our Twilight
>Forlorn Waves
>Leer, The
>Ritual of Dawn, The
>Ere All Perish
>Cold Earth Chamber
>Deserted Morrows

Album Notes

Personnel: Barren Earth (background vocals); Mikko Kotamäki (vocals); Janne Perttila, Sami Yli-Sirniö (guitar); Erno Haukkala (flute); Kasper Martenson (keyboards); Marko Tarvonen (drums).

Audio Mixer: Dan Swanö.

Recording information: Seawolf and Jive Studios, Helsinki (06/2009-08/2009).

This Finnish art-doom band is something of an underground all-star project, featuring members or ex-members of Swallow the Sun, Kreator, Amorphis, Moonsorrow, and Chaosbreed. Some of those bands play rough, guttural thrash/death, and others explore arty, progressive avenues, and Barren Earth lie somewhere in between. They mix clean vocals with death growls in a way Opeth fans will find very familiar, and their riffs and drumbeats crash forward slowly like a boat breaking through ice. Toward the end of this album's opening title track, acoustic guitar and flute break in, and the prog/Opeth feeling grows even stronger. Barren Earth do cultivate their own identity as the album goes on, of course; "Forlorn Waves" mixes a weirdly sea shanty-esque riff with pulsing piano, while the synths on "Ere All Perish" are almost worthy of Emerson, Lake & Palmer, and there's an ultra-staccato guitar-and-drums breakdown in the middle of "Cold Earth Chamber" that's both totally unexpected and irresistibly adrenalizing. Most of Barren Earth's core ideas have been done before, by others, but when their generally well-crafted songs come together, it doesn't matter that much. ~ Phil Freeman


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review