1 800 222 6872

Kevin Ayers: Joy of a Toy [Limited Edition]

Album Reviews:

Rolling Stone (10/30/03, p.92) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...[A] feast of bent-pop frolic and ravishing balladry..."

Album Notes

Personnel includes: Kevin Ayers (vocals); Paul Buckmaster (cello); Paul Minns (oboe); David Bedford (piano); Mike Ratledge (keyboards); Hugh Hopper, Jeff Clyne (bass); Robert Wyatt, Rob Tait (drums); Jean, Mary, Cyrille Ayers, Sean Murphy (background vocals).

Ayers left the Soft Machine for a solo career when his basic pop leanings appeared at odds with the intense jazz/rock of his former colleagues. This album was a cult favourite at the end of the 60s for no reason other than that Ayers was well liked because he was ever so slightly mad. Take a look and listen at the content of this album: 'Song For Insane Times', 'Eleanor's Cake (Which Ate Her)' and 'Stop This Train (Again Doing It)'. Through the haze of quirkiness there is a strong light melodic feel to much of the music, and Ayers did possess a heartbreaker voice that prompted one woman to state, 'he is the sexiest man in the world'.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review