1 800 222 6872

Daryl Hall & John Oates: X-Static

Album Notes

Hall & Oates: Daryl Hall (vocals, keyboards, Mandar, synthesizer, Hallophone); John Oates (vocals, guitar); David Foster (keyboards, synthesizer).

Additional personnel: G.E. Smith, Werner Fritzsching, Jay "Solo" Graydon, Steve "4 Bars" Love (guitar); Charlie DeChant (saxophone); Ralph Shuckett (organ); John Siegler, Neil Jason, Kenny Passarelli (bass); Jerry Marotta, Yogi Horton (drums); Jimmy Maelen (percussion); Larry Fast, Steve Porcaro, George Bitzer (programming).

Producer: David Foster.

Reissue producer: Jermey Holiday, Rob Santos.

Orginally released on RCA (3494). Includes liner notes by Ken Sharp.

Digitally remastered by Mike Hartry (BMG Studios, New York, New York).

Something of a transitional album, 1979's X-STATIC finds Daryl Hall and John Oates beginning to feel their way toward a marriage of their blue-eyed Philly soul roots with a downtown, avant-garde sensibility--the sort of canny commercial synthesis they would eventually refine on VOICES and much of their later '80s output.

Highlights include the hit single "Wait For Me," which could be vintage '70s Todd Rundgren, and the should-have-been-a-hit single "Woman Comes and Goes," which features some gorgeous Beach Boys style harmonies. "Intravino," a very funny ode to conspicuous consumption, has the most overtly proto-new wave feel of anything on the album.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product