1 800 222 6872

The Pointer Sisters: Black & White

Album Notes

The Pointer Sisters: Ruth Pointer, June Pointer, Anita Pointer (vocals).

Additional personnel: Paul Jackson, Tim May (guitar); "Cool T." Trevor Lawrence (tenor saxophone); John Barnes (piano, electric piano, keyboards); Greg Phillinganes (electric piano); Danny Faragher, William Smith (organ); Ed Walsh (synthesizer); Mike Cotten (synthesizer, programming); Mike Porcaro, Nate Watts (bass); John Robinson (drums).

Recorded at Studio 55, Los Angeles, California.

Their fourth album for Planet, 1981's BLACK & WHITE, was also the Pointer Sisters' fourth Top Ten LP. Leaving behind some of the early soul that had taken them through the 1970s, the band now focused on a purer pop. Keeping one foot in the past while gingerly touching the waters of the future, it was a sound that perfectly welded their old intentions to the mainstream diva flag they'd unfurl a little later in the decade. With more than a few major hits already behind them, it was clear that by this time the band was approaching their peak. Across the sweet pop of the opening "Sweet Lover Man," the oddly frenetic harmonies of "We're Gonna Make It," and onto the light rap of "What a Surprise," the sisters were at last delivering a hammer-punch to the mainstream masses. The sensuous "Slow Hand," later revamped by country singer Conway Twitty, not only scored the Pointer Sisters a Number Two pop hit, but immediately became one of their signature songs. "Fall in Love Again," meanwhile, remained buried deep on Side Two, but should be considered one of BLACK & WHITE's highlights. Gritty and funky, this is classic Pointer Sisters, deep and sensuous and shot through with producer Richard Perry's trademark rock & roll spangles.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review