1 800 222 6872

J.S. Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 5; Orchestral Suite No. 1; Handel: Suite 'Water Music' / Lorenzo Alpert, Concerto Köln

Conductor Ensemble

Notes & Reviews:

A leading ensemble of period performance practice, Concerto Koln has been acknowledged for their rediscovery of musical rarities. Regardless, the ensemble still views the Baroque as being shaped by two driving forces- Bach and Handel. For this release, parts of three masterpieces have been coupled for the first time: Bach's "Brandenburg Concerto," No. 5 and No. 1 of his Orchestral Suites along with Handel's "Water Music." Artistic Director Lorenzo Alpert explains the symbiotic nature of this release: "Our intensive engagement over the last 30 years with composers, music theorists and contemporaries from the time of Bach and Handel... opens up new vistas for us as we approach the works of these two great masters... What a joy to recreate a sound that seemed lost forever!"


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review