1 800 222 6872

Milt Jackson: Olinga

Album Notes

Personnel includes: Milt Jackson (vibraphone); Jimmy Heath (soprano & tenor saxophones); Arnold Black, Harry Cykman, Max Ellen (violin); Jesse Levy, Charles McCracken (cello); Cedar Walton (piano); Ron Carter (bass); Mickey Roker (drums).

Producer: Creed Taylor.

Reissue producer: Didier C. Deutsch.

Recorded at the Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey on January 9 & 10, 1974. Includes liner notes by Doug Ramsey.

Digitally remastered by Glen Kolotkin (CBS Studios, New York, New York).

Originally out on the CTI label, this set features vibraphonist Milt Jackson with some of his favorite musicians (pianist Cedar Walton, bassist Ron Carter, drummer Mickey Roker, and Jimmy Heath on tenor and soprano) along with an occasional string section. The performances are pretty straight-ahead for CTI, with Bags and company performing the ballad "Lost April," Dizzy Gillespie's "Olinga," a Walton original, and three recent songs by Jackson. Although Cedar Walton does not sound as formidable on electric piano as on acoustic and the other solos overall are a bit safe, this is a nice album. ~ Scott Yanow


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product