1 800 222 6872

Urbie Green: Señor Blues [Japan]

Track List

>Captain Marvel
>You Are So Beautiful
>Ysabel's Table Dance
>Señor Blues
>I'm in You
>I Wish

Album Notes

Personnel: Urbie Green (trombone); John Scofield (electric guitar); David Tofani (flute, soprano saxophone); Kenny Berger (bass clarinet, baritone saxophone); Grover Washington, Jr. (soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Frank Vicari (tenor saxophone); Joe Shepley (trumpet, flugelhorn); Burt Collins (trumpet); Sam Burtis (trombone); Tony Price (tuba); David Matthews (electric piano); Harvie Swartz (acoustic bass); Jimmy Madison (drums); Sue Evans (castanets, percussion).

Photographer: White Gate.

Arranger: David Matthews .

Overlooking his commercial efforts for Command and "Project 3," Urbie Green did not record as a leader during 1960-1975. His first CTI set, The Fox, was quite dull, but this encore is on a much higher level. The trombonist displays his beautiful tone and impressive technique while joined by several horns and an expanded rhythm section arranged by David Matthews. Grover Washington, Jr. takes three tenor solos and one on soprano, guitarist John Scofield helps out on two songs, and the material is generally pretty strong. Highlights include "Captain Marvel," and Charles Mingus' "Ysabel's Table Dance" and "Senor Blues." ~ Scott Yanow


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review