1 800 222 6872

The Rascals: Peaceful World

Album Notes

Personnel: Buzzy Feiten (vocals, guitar, bass); Felix Cavaliere (vocals, piano, electric piano, organ, bass marimba); Molly Holt, Ann Sutton (vocals); Link Chamberlain (guitar); Alice Coltrane (harp); Joe Farrell (flute, soprano & tenor saxophones); Hubert Laws (flute); Pepper Adams (baritone saxophone); Ernie Wilkins, Jon Smith (saxophone); Joe Newman, Ernie Royal (trumpet); Garnett Brown (trombone, horns); Ron Carter (acoustic bass); Gerald Gemott, William Salter, Chuck Rainey (electric bass); Dino Danelli (drums, percussion); Ralph MacDonald (percussion, congas, talking drum, bells, shaker); Cynthia Webb, Bruce Buono, Buddy Buono (background vocals).

Originally released on Columbia (30641).

Digitally remastered by Sundazed Studios, Coxsackie, New York.

1970's PEACEFUL WORLD is an unusual late-era Rascals album. Though the hits slacked off after "Groovin'" and "How Can I Be Sure," the group continued down the path blazed by those two singles: jazz-influenced, lightly psychedelized pop. By the time of this album, though, the psychedelia and the pop are all but gone, and this is basically a jazz record.

The Rascals at this time were down to two of the original members, keyboardist Felix Cavaliere and drummer Dino Danelli. Augmented by jazz musicians such as Alice Coltrane and Hubert Laws, the two Rascals create an early form of jazz-rock fusion neither as overbearing as Blood Sweat and Tears or as wimpy as Chicago. Throughout this lengthy set--two LPs on one CD--the players solo with skill and passion over songs which are less melodic and more propulsive than most Rascals efforts. The 20-minute title track is only as long as it needs to be.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review