1 800 222 6872

Pietro Locatelli (1695-1764): Violin Concertos / Lisa Jacobs, violin; The String Soloists

Notes & Reviews:

L'arte del violin, by virtuoso composer Pietro Locatelli, is one of the most influential compositions from the Italian Baroque. The work is a collection of twelve concerti which were written for solo violin, strings, and basso continuo. The collection was published in 1733. Upon its release, the required virtuosity of the pieces sealed Locatelli's place as a pioneer of forward-thinking violin technique. For this release, Lisa Jacobs has chosen Nos. 1, 2, and 4. In each of these selections, the two outer movements contain a capriccio. The several minute cadenzas are some of the most challenging passages in all of Baroque music. Lisa Jacobs made her violin debut at age 17 with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra under the baton of Riccardo Chailly. Since then, she has played in major concert halls all over the Netherlands, and across Europe. She has one several prizes at international competitions, including the International Jascha Heifetz Competition in Lithuana. She is famous for her passionate and compelling programs and her fresh stage presence. "Jacob's exultant phrasing and captivating sonority reaching new heights." (The Strad, UK) "Ideal combination of passion, lyricism and virtuosity" (Listen Magazine)


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased