1 800 222 6872

Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber: The Rosary Sonatas / Andrew Manze, violin; Richard Egarr, organ & harpsichord

Notes & Reviews:

The Rosary Sonatas are one of the most unusual collections of violin music ever assembled. It is primarily this work on which the fame of Biber (1644-1704) rests today. Calling for the violinist to apply a different tuning to the violin for each of its 15 Sonatas, the full set is a triumph of Baroque invention and 17th-century virtuoso style. Originally released in 2004, the Gramophone Award-winning partnership of Andrew Manze and Richard Egarr met this challenge with dazzling results.

BBC Music Magazine, October 2016
Music illustrating the joyous, sorrowful and glorious events in the life of the Virgin is played with stylistic assurance and expressive sensibility by artists at home with Biber's unique instrumental palette.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review