1 800 222 6872

River Whyless (Asheville): We All the Light

Track List

>Baby Brother
>Falling Son
>All Day All Night
>Bend Time
>Life Crisis
>Sailing Away
>Blood Moon
>One for One
>We All Deserve the Light

Album Notes

Personnel: Nathan Crockett (vocals, violin, viola); Jennifer Crockett (vocals, clarinet, bass clarinet); Justin Ringle (vocals, trumpet); Dustin Dybvig (keyboards, percussion).

Audio Mixers: Daniel Shearin; Kevin Ratterman.

Recording information: La La Land, Louisville, KY.

Photographer: Jethro Waters.

The second full-length from Asheville, North Carolina's River Whyless further confuses labels of folk and indie, securing a region of their own that's part folk-rock, part traditional folk, and part artful singer/songwriter commune, sometimes sounding as if Joni Mitchell and Punch Brothers got stranded together in a remote cabin with some decent recording equipment ("One for One," "Bend Time"). The band occasionally wander into relatively poppier territory, as well, on We All the Light ("Falling Son"), but never forsake their acoustic core. Regardless of tempos or volumes, the full set is marked by creative yet refined arrangements that are by this point a distinguishing characteristic of the group. ~ Marcy Donelson


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review